Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    The Unexpected Extra - Day 04

    June 14, 2022 in England ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Well that was an added bonus last night, but not sure getting up at 3.45am for a 4.15am taxi felt so great
    We both shuffled around the hotel room, Tre decidedly more bright and awake then I was. I blamed it on waking at 1.30am and not sleeping well since then, but in all honesty I’m not an early morning person.
    Downstairs and outside the hotel we noted another line female obviously waiting for a taxi as well. When it arrived at 4.15am unbelievably, we mentioned to her about sharing the cab to save either one of us waiting on another. All three of us scrambled into the taxi and we shortly arrived at the airport. The taxi driver made the most of his luck and charged us both the rate it should have been for the one trip - Hey Ho we were at the airport.
    Straight through to the search where again Tre managed to get the full pay down and then into the queue for passport control.
    It was at this point that Tre went to one booth and me to another. Tre got a stamp and I got told I was too early to go through. After a bit of discussion and on the basis they couldn’t remove Tre’s exit stamp I was given one also and we plodded off to the gate.
    A vending machine coffee and hot chocolate was all that was available before boarding. Only then did we notice on our hastily changed flight and seats of yesterday, that although we had selected two seats together towards the rear of the plane - I did have one of those seats but Tre one in row 14 halfway down the plane. I apologised for my IT skills and tried to reassure Tre I wasn’t trying to get rid of her for an hour.
    Anyhow on we got and I and I know Tre also both fell asleep for the majority of the flight. I was woken by the landing announcement.
    After meeting up once off the train we swept through passport control and to the train station via Costa for coffee and croissants.
    The train arrived within minutes and 15 minutes later we were back indoors, to reality.
    Now we just have a decision to make . . . .
    Read more