Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    August 25th

    August 25, 2017 in Canada ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    Plans with friends fell through today so Ollie and I filled our tires with air, mounted our trusty bikes and steered onto the roads, sidewalks and bike lanes of Oakwood Village. First we stopped in at Al Flaherty's Hunting and Fishing store to buy a gift certificate for Toby's daycare provider. Next, Ollie raced around the field at Rawlinson. He guesstimated he was doing somewhere between 20 and 80 km per hour, as fast as a car. We dropped in on my old friend Josh to pick up the ukelele I left there last night. Ollie got hungry so we went to de Soto's for a margarita pizza, a beer and a chocolate milk.

    The whole day was sunny and breezy. A few clouds floated lazily by but they stayed in the wings graciously giving the blue sky center stage. Under the spell of such a wistful and idyllic production, we took long circuitous routes everywhere we went, never checking my phone, nothing pressing on our minds and nowhere to be.

    Later that afternoon I ordered some maki rolls and udon noodles from Karu Sushi. Dana came over to play with the boys so Jessica and I drank white wine on the back porch. Jessica seemed really giddy for awhile then she passed out. She opened her eyes long enough to instruct me in putting away the laundry and to insist I turn off the light to go to bed. I had a couple of books going at the time so I resented having to use my tiny book light. No great consequence. Somehow writing about it provides me with sufficient revenge.
    Read more