Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    The day before school starts

    September 4, 2017 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Two nights now I haven't been able to sleep. I watched the entire season two of Narcos instead. This morning Ollie found me on the couch downstairs and curled up beside me to watch the iPad. I crawled upstairs into his bed and closed my eyes. Gradually the house filled with noises of everyone waking up. Cluttering spoons on bowls of oatmeal, Jessica chatting with her sister, the canned voices and sound effects of whatever the kids were watching on the iPads... I still had the after taste of kimchi in my mouth from dinner at the Kyoung's last night.

    More spring clean up today. So happy about the garage now that it's organized. Makes me want to start a new project. As I've been ferrying the kids around keeping them busy while Jessica does some stuff around the house, I'm envisioning a new footprint just for school stuff. It would be nice to have a reflection journal of the experiences I encounter. It would likely improve my teaching practice as well.

    "Sometimes you just say what you don't want to say," said Ollie.

    The boys and I ran naked through the backyard during the downpour. The last hurrah of summer!
    Read more