Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Chaotic border crossing

    March 19, 2016 in Nicaragua ⋅ ☀️ 5 °C

    Two more days of travelling lie behind me. After a short chicken bus ride from Río Cangrejal to la Ceiba, I actually got a pretty comfortable and direct (!) bus to the Honduran capital Tegucigalpa. However, from the outsides of the city it took another 2 hours for me top actually get to my hostel, since the traffic is just unbelievable. It's not only a lot, but doesn't seem to follow any rules either: the cars just try to get through any space, no matter if it is even on the right side of the street. Tegucigalpa itself is not a nice place at all, I only spent the night there because I had to pass through to get to Nicaragua. As it was already dark at my arrival and the area is rather sketchy, I didn't really want to go to buy something for dinner, even though I only had some snacks for lunch. Luckily, three English I shared my room with kindly invited me to have a bit (better: a huge serving) of their absolutely delicious curry.
    Since thanks to semana santa (holly week) all direct shuttles to León were booked up for the next few days, I took the 5.50 am minibus to the border. The migration process took a while, but that was nothing compared to what expected me afterwards. A chicken bus took me to the next town, from where I had to hop on a Managua-bound bus to Estelí and from there on a minibus to León. The real problem though was that the people at the bus stations, probably already waiting for hours, would not even wait until an arriving bus had stopped, but tried to climb in through any door and some even through the windows (like I said, semana santa isn't the best time to travel). Nevertheless, already in the Honduran bus I had met a really nice Dominican and his friends, a Nicaraguan couple with their adorable daughter, who helped me and my luggage to get on the buses. Although they went all the way to Managua, also in Estelí I met two guys who secured me a seat. After all, I got all buses at the first try.
    Read more