Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Mostar Impressions

    August 11, 2017 in Bosnia and Herzegovina ⋅ 🌬 36 °C

    The pictures here are a bit of a collection of different days in this micro town.
    The night shots are from my first evening, when I went up the “sniper tower“ with a couple of people. In reality it's an abandoned bank building that was used by snipers during the war. Nowadays, some tourists climb up the naked stairs to have a view from the rooftop. Entering this building that is covered in broken glass and fallen rocks at night by climbing over the walls, and especially imagining what happened here 20 years ago, was one of the creepiest experiences of my life, but definitely worth doing.
    The sandwich on the next picture is only one example for the delicious and creative breakfasts we got every morning at the hostel, individually prepared for each guest once they woke up.
    The rest are some images of the town on my last day, including the old bridge, where people jump 24 meters deep into the 7° cold Neretva river and a fountain at one of the mosques. I didn't really do much more this day, it was just way too hot. The 45° in combination with the tour the day before made me incredibly sleepy, such that I only walked around a bit and had some ice cream. Later, I met with the English guys for refreshing beer and dinner. It turned out that I should probably spend my whole life with only a few marks left in my pocket - I didn't spend a cent the whole day but lived in luxury, being paid more things than I'd even wanted.
    Then it was time to say goodbye to Bosnia. It may not be the country with most places to visit or the easiest accessibility, but it's absolutely worth going. Especially it's multi-ethnic character makes it very different from most countries I've seen so far - and I'll really miss the chanting prayers from the minarets at every corner.
    Read more