Satellite
Show on map
  • Close culture shocks

    June 16, 2022 in Austria ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    So Bovec (in the Soča valley, Slovenia) is calling again. Since it will be Julia's and my fifth time in the same place doing the same thing I am figuring I will not be posting a lot. Let's see though, I might still change my mind and open another designated trip after all 😁

    At least one thing is new: instead of taking the train down to Ulm (southern Germany) and go the remaining 6+ hours together with Julia by car, this time we meet all the way down in Villach, an Austrian town just a one-hour border crossing via Predel pass from our destination. I am currently switching trains in Salzburg and a little stunned by two (seen from outside potentially minor) things:
    1. All of my six trains (counting also the trams in Cologne and Munich) were one time or delayed by at most three minutes. Even with my heavy luggage - carrying equipment not only for kayaking, but also for climbing - I reached all my connecting trains. While as a non-German stereotypes may lead you to think of this as obvious ("German punctuality" and so on), this is indeed highly irregular. Turns out that in international comparison our trains are among the top-ranking regarding delays. And even when they are not delayed, they may change the schedule to an earlier departure and not even notify the train staff.
    2. My way to Austria and towards Slovenia took me through Bavaria - the most strict German state regarding Covid rules. Consequently, when using public transportation you are not only required to wear a face mask, but one of FFP2 standard. So in Salzburg, I boarded my final train, still wearing the FFP2 mask, only to discover that I was the only one. Apparently, without the outside world realizing, Austria has abolished masks altogether. I'm choosing to consider this a good sign indicating that we are finally about to put Covid behind us.

    In summary, my trip definitely starts with some little joys 🌞
    Read more