Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 105

    Surprisingly Eventful Journey to Class!

    May 30, 2016 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    One of the this has I wanted to do when I left for travelling is take a cooking class in every country I went to. Thailand I did, then Laos and Cambodia I didnt. Laos because the food was very similar to Thai just not as nice and Cambodia I just didn't get around to it although the Lok Lak is delish. Vietnam it was happening for sure and Josh, a culinary expert, wanted to do one as well so we booked it and went off.

    We met our guide and she immediately named us Ping & Ming (I think!) which meant baby and hero (she said...) obviously I was hero 💪

    Anyway it was just the two of us and she took us away on a boat along the river where I saw fishing nets blowing in the wind and I don't why but it looked really beautiful. We soon stopped and switched into a bowl boat made from bamboo which Josh and I wearing our token rice hat's were paddling very poorly until the boatman took over and our guide was laughing at us. He then stopped and showed us how to make a fricking grasshopper from the long grass growing out of the water, flax I think? It was pretty impressive although I couldn't tell you now how it's done. He carried on through the waterways with long grass all around us and finally broke through into this beautiful little area with a small lake and an outdoors cooking area. We had arrived.
    Read more