Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Ha Giang

    September 26, 2017 in Vietnam ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    The decision to go to Ha Giang was based on a recommendation and a picture of a road cut into the mountain and the thirst to drive it. Little did I know just what we were about to experience...

    Arriving in Ha Giang town at about 4/5am we were dropped off at Kiki's House Homestay and the guy made up beds for us and another English couple we'd met who also just wanted to rent a motorbike for the loop. He wasn't having any of it...."sleep first, drive later". So we slept free of charge, such a sound guy, and when I woke I went to sort out a bike. He recommended I drive a semi-automatic because of the hills on the loop which made sense but I which I had no experience but months on an automatic. He said no problem for me to upgrade and after a very comfortable test drive I followed his advice and thanked my lucky stars I did during the trip. Bikes all set, bags strapped in and bellies full, the four of us set off on our adventure.
    Read more