Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27–29

    Who is here at Bräunlingen?

    April 1 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    Huh... what? Finn is back!

    I needed help with the storm planning, so Finn helpfully sent Ivo to bring Schopper and me to Katha's parents' home in Bräunlingen.

    Fritz and Petra invited me to a lunch of yummy soup and Bärlauch Späzle and Reh-braten. Over lunch, Fritz told me of the proud history of this city, not village, of 6000 people going back to 1305. And the long-standing fight against the Prince of Donaueschingen, with help actually coming from the Habsburgs in Vienna! Then I learnt about the super house he built himself from Black Forest wood, and got to check out the classic Kramer tractor that was manufactured two towns over. This Alemannische wizard had so much to share!

    Katha and Finn then took me on a tour of the most important city sights. I got to see how these Zähringer cities were built, with concentric walls and houses along them. Only 12 such cities exist in Europe.

    This turned out to be a Schwarzwald festival! What a wonderful home, and pride in an utterly local and rich heritage.
    Read more