Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Midnight Collision

    April 22, 2023 in the United States

    We were woken in the middle of the night by the sound of an anchor chain, very close by. I put my head out of the hatch above the bed to see a huge sport fishing boat about 20 feet away and headed straight towards the side of our boat as it dropped anchor. I jumped out of bed, pulling on a pair of pants, but felt the boat lurch under my feet while I was still in the salon. When I got outside, the other boat was 2 or 3 feet away, backing up. Obviously, he'd hit us. The captain appeared very drunk, which was confirmed by his passengers. He finished anchoring in the middle of four boats, all of which could easily swing into him. We'll, if you see Captain Leonard De La Haye of Jezebel (Hylas 46), tell him he owes me for the repairs. He denied all to the police and appears to not be insured.Read more