Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Hello Wwoofing!

    November 13, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    So I left Paihia and that little bit of civilisation I had left (even found something swissish on the street) and went about 20 minutes further up to the farm of the niece of that woman I was staying with - to start woofing!
    Now for those of you who just had a question mark popping up in their head: WWOOFING (world wide opportunities on organic farms) is working on a farm for a couple of hours and getting some food and a bed in return. In my case its 4 hours a day of f.e. gardening/woodworking/cleaning/cooking, just helping the family with simple stuff they normally dont have time for :)

    I got really lucky! I am staying on a huuuge farm (although they say its one of the smallest in the country, for me its huge!) with a milking station, cheese factory, beekeeper/honeyproducer, timberfactory, mechanic and a kindergarten! Its lovely here! They have cows (even french ones - they're really famous here!), sheeps, pigs, chicken and of course a garden...so actually everything they need!

    The family is adorable! Anna, owner of the farm, is swiss and married to Bob. They have so many children, I have lost counting and the overview, and most of the family works and lives somewhere on the farm as well. In the house with me also lives Nidhi, a girl who works at the kindergarten and has rented a room here - she is currently teaching me how to drive and showing me around the area. And Bob is helping me with effort, trying to find a car as I don't know anything about cars - and we're going to have a look at two the upcoming week! So project car is going well!

    The only real drawback about living on a farm is that massive amount of mosquitos and sandflies! I don't know if everyone knows sandflies, but those are tiny devilish creatures which I firstly identified as cute little fruitflies - they are not cute and they are not fruitflies! They are the evil! My legs are COVERED with bites and they itch as hell!

    But other than that I really enjoy getting to know the kiwi style of a farming life! ;)
    Read more