Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Home Jerome

    January 5, 2020 in South Africa ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Drive home was long and tiring. I wanted to get off the N12 and onto the N1 (or at least avoid the mining areas where the speed limits change from 100 to 60 about a thousand times. Unfortunately I didn’t have my map book and had to rely on google maps. This would have been perfect had google maps kept me on my chosen path as opposed to telling me I could save 3 minutes travel time Turing left when I suspect I should have gone straight. And so I drove though small town South Africa off the beaten track and ended up back on the N12 stopping and going and screaming (now quietly) at google.

    The good news was I made it home in one piece and my family was there to meet me. A great end to a holiday I thought would be stressful and chaotic full of Cape Town traffic and turned out to be relaxing, fun and full of laughs and adventure. If this is how 2019 ended I trust that 2020 will push these limits. Happy New Year everyone!
    Read more