Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37–38

    Baraca do Casmilo

    March 22 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    What a pleasure waking up for a swim! And I had the dorm all to myself at Albergue Rabaçal and enjoyed a full night's rest.

    A short 4km walk up and over the hill from Rabaçal got me to the Baracks (Caves) of Casmilo where I spent most of the afternoon dozing under the trees and exploring the small caves.

    With no level areas to set up camp for the night, I climbed to the top of the next hill to find a very sweet little village with a few people in it this time!

    2 cups of tea and a full French style lunch at the village picnic area hit the spot. I get the impression  there are many rock climbers that flock here on the weekends as I spotted several bolted climbing routes around the caves.

    The Moon is nearly full and the bats are out swooping just above my bivy already. I'm tucked in, warm and ready for a good 12 hour snooze in my own 'bed' again in the Hotel of a Billion Stars.
    Read more