Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Day 39- Coimbra

    March 24 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Coimbra and the Monastary of Santa Clara.
    It's a beautiful city, the 4th largest in Portugal with a population of 140,000. I only had glimpses of it in the light of the setting sun.
    Today I did a 10km walk from Coimbraga and a 6km ride on a 100% electric Municipal bus!
    Then I spent 3 hours testing out new backpacks as I have sadly come to the realisation that my beloved Karimor is just too small for my back length. So now I have a brand new Forclaz MT100 70 to accompany me through to wherever I am heading!

    The Monastary of Santa Clara is spectacular. Circa 1325 it overlooks the city of Coimbra from the South Western side of the river.

    My evening was an absolute delight of laughter and stories with Patrick from England but of Irish descent. This is Patrick's 10th Camino and he walks between 24 and 42km per day. I'm not sure if he has dyslexia, but I think he was serious when he told me that! His walk last year was from Caimbridge to Rome! Maybe one day I will visit hime and his wife Yvonne in the South of France somewhere.

    Just another beautiful day in paradise 🙏
    Read more