Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Dubai to London

    March 30, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Time to leave Dubai and head for London. I went for a walk around the hotel area early in the morning before it got too hot. It was nice to visit some of the local businesses and see the less commercial side of Dubai. I had time to laze by the rooftop pool at the hotel and read a book before heading to the airport.

    The Emerites terminal was enormous and full of travelers but check in was very efficient. I was offered an exit row to my delight and it ended up being the very front row of the plane. Lots of legroom and I was close to all the drama. We were delayed takeoff while a very privileged young Arabic man insisted he should be in business class and that someone with the same name had stolen his seat! The front seat drama continued when an elderly lady collapsed and a makeshift bed was made at the front while they gave her oxygen and took her blood pressure etc..

    Finally made it to Heathrow and after speedy customs (thank you British passport) I was on my way via train and taxi to my hotel. The room in my London hotel is tiny with a single bed but very cute and the location looks very good.
    Read more