Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Path of the gods

    May 17, 2017 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    I had a spare last day in Sorrento and I decided to tackle the "path of the gods". It is a 3 1/2 hour trek up above the Amalfi Coast that goes from a village near Amalfi to one above Positano. After a little bit of research I decided to start at the Amalfi end of the walk so caught the lovely public bus there again. Once again admiring the fabulous views and the skill of the bus drivers that get you there in one piece.

    When I got there I decided to do a quick side trip to Ravello on the bus before tackling the walk (procrastinating much!). It was a pleasant place but like everything in Italy by bus, it took longer than I thought. I was then a bit late getting the bus to the start and getting going on the walk and it was hot hot hot.

    The walk was amazing and awful all at the same time. The track was a mixture of uphill and down often clamboring over boulders with the steps up and down as high as a foot. I took it pretty easy and as the nice views appeared so the path narrowed with sheer drops to the side. My ability to walk in a straight line is known to be bad so I needed to concentrate on these sections!

    There were lots of fellow walkers along the way and although it was one of the tougher walks I have done, it was very rewarding!

    I reached the end very hot and tired to find there was a 45 minute wait for the next bus which would see me miss my planned ferry home. A bored looking young cabby who obviously wanted to finish for the day, offered me a good deal and I rode home to Sorrento in air-conditioned style.
    Read more