Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 80

    Car issues - I’m stuck in Hazelton and S

    August 30, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    While getting gas at a full service gas station, the idiots there put regular gasoline into my diesel tank. Believe me, you do NOT want that to happen. The engine sounds very unhealthy. I managed to roll it to a stop in front of Hazelton public library (WiFi!!!!) at 6 pm and spent an uncomfortable night there before being able to to call towing services, garages and insurance company. And as Hazelton is a small village in the middle of nowhere, it took until the late afternoon before a tow truck arrived and pulled me into the next biggest town, Smithers, where I had found a mechanic who could take a look at my car the next day, and not 2 to 4 weeks out. Big thank you to OK Tire in Smithers! I got lucky, after draining, and cleaning the tank, the engine runs fine, and in the end I lost only two days, and the insurance is going to cover most of the cost.Read more