Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    All the way across the map

    January 13, 2019 in Singapore ⋅ 🌧 29 °C

    First time on Singapore Airlines, and first time in Singapore (airport only). Possibly also the first time flying over Iran.

    Not a bad list of firsts for one day. So how do I rate them?

    Flying over Iran - disappointingly, dark. Couldn't see a thing.

    Singapore Airlines - fine. Not great, certainly I dispute their claimto be 'World's Best', but fine. Lovely, original uniform for the women, smart but uninteresting suits for the men. Food was edible (saitan tasty, noodles a bit bland, and the mango jelly with sweetcorn in is not something I'll be trying at home), service pleasantly unremarkable. They don't do between-meals drinks rounds as often as the other ones I've flown long haul with recently. You can ring for a drink but often I'm not quite awake or thirsty enough to bother, but will grab a glass of juice from a tray if offered. So we arrived at Singapore a little dehydrated. And the footrest bothered me. Down it means the underseat space can be used only for the tiniest of bags; up it's a shin-batterrer and means it's impossible to stretch your legs out when the seat is reclined.

    Singapore airport - terrible carpets, wonderful butterfly garden, indoor trees and koi ponds. And very helpful staff. Hasn't knocked Incheon off my top spot, but it's certainly a league up from Heathrow. There's a great view of the very busy harbour as you come in to land. I recommend staying away from the calamondin and sour plum juice, though. It's one of the oddest things I've tasted.

    Having said that, I didn't try the water chestnut juice, the chocolate-coated crispy durian omelette, or the salted egg flavour crispy fish skin sold in packets like crisps. Nor do I have any intenton of doing so.
    Read more