Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    First week in Cartagena

    October 9, 2023 in Colombia ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    I'd like to sum up my first week of language school in Cartagena. Overall, I really like the city and I am very happy to be here. There are a lot of cafés and sometimes it's almost impossible to decide where to have a coffee or a nice juice next😊 Moreover, I'm already finding my way around pretty well and feel very comfortable. It's becoming slowly like a home. The school is very familiar and the people are friendly. My class is really great, even though there are two other Swiss students, I think I've already made a lot of progress in just one week. The two parents from Colorado are also super nice and funny, so we have a lot of fun during the lessons. This week we also had a salsa lesson and a city trip with all the students, which was very lovely. Every friday is cooking day, so all students cook a traditional Columbian dish together. This time we cook patacones with Guacamole, which was very delicious although it was fried. Moreover, on friday we had to sing karaoke to a Spanish song. Not something I really like to do, but somehow it worked out and was fun too.
    At the weekend, I went to the island of Tintipan with a German girl who is also at the language school. After a two-hour ride on a boat, we finally arrived at the island and were warmly welcomed with a drink. There were only two other guests in this accommodation, so it almost felt like a private island. In the afternoon we spent some time in the crystal blue water, relaxed in the hammock and even fell asleep. Finally, we were able to enjoy a beautiful sunset. For dinner we had a delicious fish with the famous coconut rice and patacones. Unfortunately, there was a heavy thunderstorm during the night, so the ground was shaking. From 4 a.m. onwards it rained continuously, so that unfortunately we didn't have any more of the beautiful beach. Nevertheless, you have to get used to it in the rainy season. and it was totally worth it anyway. The return journey was accordingly very wet and adventurous😅
    Read more