Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 57

    Week 9: North Carolina + Virginia

    June 6, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 61 °F

    The final week is here after cutting the trip short a few weeks!

    Can’t believe I made it. You know, when you put your mind to something, and dedicate yourself to that, you can accomplish some rather crazy things.

    Planning this trip, working with resellers, setting up meetings, driving across the country, doing presentations, staying in new hotels every night - I felt like it would wear me out, but I’ve gotten in a groove. Maybe it’s the excitement of seeing the country that has kept my vibe alive. Or maybe I’m
    built to be able to handle more.

    Most of my friends can’t believe the stats behind this trip…and that I’m doing it solo. To me, this doesn’t seem that crazy. I mean, I put that I’m going to go to space on my life goals list. I wrote it 3 times. And I’m going to get there so driving around the country seems minimal.

    Anywho, this week I’ll be making some long treks in my final 3 days. North Carolina to Virginia, back to NC, and then off to our headquarters in Atlanta. That trip to Atlanta is going to be such a phenomenal feeling because I’ll know that this trip was a success, both for business and awareness of our efforts on pushing the STEM solutions we have.

    I’m so glad I made an effort to convince Boxlight to allow this journey to happen. I just knew that post pandemic, getting face to face with customers, and a demoing the product in a unique way would be beneficial. And it has. The schools/districts we met with have loved it. And it’s memorable! Sometimes these schools take a year or so to buy, but when they come around to it, I know they’ll remember me driving up to their campus, pulling out the demo experience from the sprinter, and going through the solutions and letting them try them out.

    It’s bitter sweet returning home because I am happy to have some time to recharge, but I also have a busy month and I was expecting to go through to the end of June in my head. Either way, I’ll be happy to have a weekend with friends and family.

    I did a hike this weekend in Asheville NC to one of the most amazing waterfalls I’ve ever seen. It was about an hour drive into blue ridge mountains, and when I got there it was POURING rain. I could have just waited for it to stop, or drove back, but I just said yolo and departed in the rain. 3 miles in, I ran into this waterfall and was in awe. The best part about it, I think the rain amplified the intensity of this waterfall. It was a magic moment for sure and one that showed me that you have to persevere through difficult things to see incredible wins.

    I’ve had a lot of “me” time on this trip and was able to really get in tune with myself, my focuses in life, what’s truly important to me, building life goals/yearly goals, and being grateful for all the things I do have. That was an important side win I didn’t expect. Thank you Mission to Mars Van! Let’s crush this final week :)
    Read more