Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 1 comments

    June 13, 2019 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    That was possibly the toughest day on a bike I have ever had!

    In the early morning all was fine as I rode along the really nice bike path. But the further I got from Banff the more the path deteriorated. The trail (single track) became very uncomfortable with the heavy bike.

    Once I got to some open road I stayed on it and a km or 2 later had to turn around (thanks to someone pointing out I was on the wrong trail) for other single track. This single track was anything but flat, rolling bumps on the bike were making everything jump as I rode over them.

    Then came some rain just before Boulton creek trading post. The rain made some of the roads very muddy. I twice had to stop to get mud off.

    The last 15km before koko claims turn off I was falling asleep. About 1 km up the road I gave in and camped out.
    Read more