Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 15 comments

    June 28, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 6 °C

    So today started off ok after the snow of last night. But I got tired quite early and after Union Pass had a really strong headwind and it really got me down.

    Stopped at a cafe to eat (hamburger and chips and hotdog and chips with about 3l of diet coke). As I was sitting there waiting for the wind to die down, a couple out for a meal asked me what the cycling was about and we chatted for over an hour. They then invited me to stay over.

    As I was already more than a day behind the official cutoff time I accepted. I sent the race organizer a note to say I need to be considered a tourer and not a racer)

    So a not so great day turned into a highlight of the trip!

    I saw a cayote today.

    At the top of union pass I was surrounded 360 degrees by the snow capped mountains! A photo just can't do it justice!

    Most of the day was ridden at over 2500m above sea level, peaking at 2975m
    Read more