Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Day 25 comments

    July 7, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Was great starting at the top of a pass this morning. Nice long (cold) downhill. Then another pass to ride over.

    I found it interesting that I was glad it was a short pass, only 700m gain in 20km. A month ago I would have dreaded such a long pass. Tomorrow I have a 40km pass gaining 1250m 🙄

    Stopped in Del Norte. Has 2 subway meals and a third for tomorrow. I've booked into a hostel (the Divide Riders Hostel) to have a good rest and charge devices.

    In Del Norte I met a British veteran whose ankles were badly damaged from shrapnel. Pretty amazed he could even walk let alone ride such a long way.

    Becky from England who I've seen a few times on the route so far arrived at the hostel quite late, her belt drive had snapped and she needed to wait in town for a replacement. She is touring the route.
    Read more