Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Day 31 comments

    July 13, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Breakfast at the motel was cereal and coffee, not very filling, nor useful for long riding. Left just before 7. Hoping to make subway when it opened.

    Unknowingly took wrong turn where there was also a Subway (which only opened at 8) so stopped at convenience store, bought prepackaged burgers. Then realised I went wrong way, corrected and got to correct subway at 8, as I already had food I rode past.

    Stopped at La Ventana arch for some sightseeing and to eat. The burger is so dry it needs to be washed down with water. American burgers are horrible.

    At my next food stop met 3 British guys who had just started their trip north.

    Made Pie Town a bit late and got to the cafe just in time to order food. Had a meal, diet coke and coffee before continuing.

    As I left the rain started. I rode in the rain for about 20km, getting quite cold before it stopped. Camped out in the Gila National forest at aoput 23:00. Riding in the evening helps as its cooler. So I'm taking a few hours off in the afternoon to avoid the heat.

    Tomorrow I hope to sleep at a lodge and make Silver City in the late afternoon, will treat myself to another motel/hostel there as well. Looks like I can finish on 16th or early morning on 17th.

    The photo is of a lava flow. There were numerous lava flows all parrallel to one another as I rode. They constrasted the sandstone cliffs on the other side of the road.
    Read more