Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Day 34 comments

    July 16, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 34 °C

    Longest day, distance and time. 7am to 3:44am. 206km!

    After getting my tent set up at 2am, I only got a bit more than 3 hours sleep, waking up just after 5.

    Day started ok with long tar road. But I had diarrhoea and it was hard. Once on the dirt road it got super hot. I even sat under a farm implement for 30 minutes to cool down. I decided to push on through the heat to Separ and rest there.

    Got to Separ where there is only a curio shop. Luckily they had cold coke and anti-diarrhoea medication. Lordsburg (nearest town) my weather app said was 38C feels like 43C. I sat/slept on the porch until nearly 6pm when a rain storm started and temperatures dropped.

    I rode hard to Hachita, not expecting shop to be open. I got there just before they closed and was given free coffee. Jeffrey who would be picking me up at the end met me there. We agreed on a 6am meeting at the finish.

    I was riding well and just continued riding hard. Reaching the finish at 3:44am!

    It is done!

    (30mins later I see a skunk run down the road past me)
    Read more