Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Puebla de Sanabria - Requejo (14)

    August 4, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    I am getting behind! Too much to do and write to catch up here.

    Because I injured my Achilles tendons which lasted for months, I am starting slowly. I walked about 2 kms more than the 'official' 12 to Requejo. First because of sightseeing in the beautiful citadel of Puebla de Sanabria. And then because I followed the wrong arrows, which led me past the Guardia Civil on the wrong side of the river Castro. So I had to walk back.

    I walked more on the N-525 than strictly necessary. Yellow arrows are sometimes pointing you to that (quiet) road when there is a much nicer alternative along the river.

    Being a vegetarian on the Camino isn't always easy. Apart from potatoes and bread there isn't much I can eat in bars and restaurants. The bar-tienda in Requejo had a tiny little shop. I managed to buy an onion, garlic, a couple of cans and jars (tomatoes, white beans and broad beans) and 2 oranges. And called it lunch, dinner and lunch for the next day.

    I stayed in albergue Casa Cervino which I could recommend. A little kitchen, a balcony with chairs, fresh sheets on the beds. I was the only pilgrim, but around midnight 2 girls arrived by car. They were quiet as a mouse.
    Read more