Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Camino Day 19 (part 2) - O'Cebreiro

    September 12, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    We tackled "the big hill" today, an almost vertical climb to the town of O'Cebreiro. Along we way up we passed a group of Korean students who were on a 12 month trip around the world (another story, another time). One 16 year old in particular, Kiru, started chatting with us. He asked to interview us. He then asked the one question that I still find difficult to answer...
    Why do you walk the Camino?
    I have the usual answer.... for the challenge, for the experience.... I'm not religious.
    It was not until we reached the town and I entered the church and saw the Pilgrims Pray on the wall, I realised, this is why I love the Camino.
    Take out the God stuff, those who know me know I'm not religious, but each time I do this it does have an impact on my life, I hope for the positive.
    I love the way people interact on the Camino, the selfishness and openness, the caring, and gratitude for the smallest of things is heart warming, and is what keeps drawing me back.
    I'm not sure when or if I will be back for another, but will endeavour to bring the Camino back home with me.
    Read more