Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    The gloriousness that is Bangkok

    October 31, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 77 °F

    So I wasn’t terribly nervous when we landed. I had navigated 2 showers in 2 different lounges under a certain amount of time, and I was feeling capable.
    I got my bag without a hitch and repacked sitting there at baggage claim. I wanted to take the Airlink train into the city and then their elevated train the BTS. I follow a guy on YouTube who did a who video on it, and I had written down some stuff too. Traffic in Bangkok is atrocious and they say the BTS is inexpensive, air conditioned and easy to use. So I wanted to do it. I told myself “ it would be practice”. So 1st I had to change some dollars into Baht. Right now the exchange rate is 1 US $ = 38 BAHT. which is good, and why so many Westerners love to come here. The dollar goes a long way. I had done some research on the best exchange place and everyone’s says one of the best is a place called “Super Rich”. Rey also said NOT to get money exchanged up close to the arrival and departure halls; but down in the 1st floor with the food court and where you catch the AirTrain. I also heard that they were picky about only accepting very new crisp $100 bills. So I got a few before I left home, and noticed that they weren’t as crisp as I would have liked. And I was right. So I brought 4 $100 bills with me. I heard an old trick about putting a $100 bill in your shoes under your insoles. Well, I brought an old pair of “ASICS” (I wore them all over New Mexico last fall) and had new orthopedic inserts in them. (It’s like walking on a cloud).
    So I had $200 in my shoes, one buried in my suitcase and the other in my wallet. The girls at super rich were very sweet. They were very sweet when they told me my $100 bill wasn’t crisp and new enough, and they wouldn’t be taking it today. Ok, No problem. So I opened my suitcase up along the wall across from the money exchange and fished it out of its hiding spot. Took that up to them. Another very nice girl said, “Not today” and showed me it’s less than pristine condition. Now I’m starting to sweat. I’ve gained some weight, I’m dragging these bags around, one my back and I’m not in the best cardio form I’ve ever been in and I just ransacked my suitcase in front of the money people. So I’m sweaty. So I gather my stuff, go around the corner, take off a shoe, take out the insert. And there it a pristine $100 bill. I would have preferred to not give them one out of the bottom of my shoe, but I went up at 3rd time and it worked. Hot damn.
    So I got a ticket out of the vending machine for airlink, no problem. Once I got to the BTS, figuring out how to do that took some time and by time, I mean me and the ticket girl not communicating at all ( totally my fault). So I wandered around for a bit trying to pull up GRAB (SE Asia’s version of Uber), and it was being glitchy. So I went up to them again and pointed at something on my phone that said it in Thai and English. And then he pointed me downstairs and it was all good from then. I figured out the BTS ticket vending machine and it was on.
    So when I stepped out of the BTS station into the neighborhood I’m in this week , it was like something out of a movie. I’m in an old historical part, (the place I’m staying in is a converted shop house- The Chinese would have their store on the ground floor and live above. These are very popular in Malaysia too) of Bangkok and there is a LOT of character.
    So it’s not all new and shiny. It is chaos to the senses. Ten million electrical wires crisscross like you see in picture of India. Street food vendors EVERYWHERE. Little old ladies selling veggies, old men making wontons, a beggar sitting in the middle of the sidewalk, motorcycles on all sides, tuk-tuks, tourists, locals all in a big jumble of amazing vibrant community. I had my phone out (attached to a clip in my bag so the me being the obvious “Farang “ ( Thai slang for white westerners) doesn’t get her phone yanked out of her hand). Because I was watching Google maps and how to get to the air BB. So I had one eye on the phone and another taking in all this spectacle. I got to the house pretty easily. But I dropped my bags and ran back out. I had scheduled (a few days before I left ) a couple of hours of massage at a nice place with good reviews. I had scheduled it at 3pm thinking if I landed at 11. That would give me more than enough time. Well I was 15 minutes late, when I ran in, sweaty, wild eyed, and apologizing profusely for my tardiness. They were very kind and told me it was fine. I jumped in the shower before we started, and that nice lady worked on my feet back and shoulders with everything she had. I’m not going to be able to move tomorrow, but it was like Heaven.
    So on the way home, it had gotten dark. I was feeling alert, not tired and relaxed, so I figured I’d take the BTS home. It reminded me a lot of NYC, with out the crazy people peeing in certain cars, or sleeping on the seats. And a few amazing things. First. They all queue up on neat little rows to get on the train. All the time. And they are all still wearing masks on the trains. Every single one. Every so often, you see someone who isn’t. But it’s rare.
    So one the way back to the air BB, their were all kinds of street vendors along the main drag. This one guy had big piles of noodles ( a good size portion for 20 baht = $.53. And the most gorgeous seafood omelette, cooked up fresh and just gorgeous for 60 baht -$1.53!And then of course I had to go into 7-11 for some dessert and to check it out. It was nice coming home with street vendor food. Super tasty and fresh. A good meal to finish off a great 1st day here.
    Read more