Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Singapore

    October 31, 2022 in Singapore ⋅ ☁️ 84 °F

    So I landed in Singapore this morning after a 12 hr flight from Frankfurt. I was wondering how the airline handles day/night on these super long flights. Well, 1st they feed you, then they slowly turn down the ambient lighting and have people close the window shades. Then people start settling down to sleep, and the next thing you know they have created a “night” situation. Then they slowly start turning up the ambient lighting like the sun coming up, and they feed you again. Somebody is making a lot of money coming up with this stuff. It it’s subtle, manipulative and it works like a charm.
    So I had 2 full hours before my flight to Bangkok. I knew I wanted to go to the Singapore flagship “Silver Kris Lounge” and see if I could get a shower, some breakfast snacks and that good machine coffee that wasn’t intimidating me this time.
    So the 1st thing I did when I got the the lounge is go to the showers. The day before I got lucky. They were not busy and there was no wait for showers. This time there was. But only 15 minutes. So I flopped down on a couch and people watched until it was my time. So the thing I thought about my family the most was that EVERY toilet in there was a Toto washlet. The lid lifted for you, there was a seat warmer, and I kid you not, 10 different combinations for the bidet. Lol, I felt like a little kid, playing with the remote in the bathroom.
    Another thing I loved about this lounge is they had all kinds of DimSum for breakfast. So DimSum and coffee it was, until it was time to go.
    The Singapore airport is always named the best airport in the world, and it was very cool. You could spend a lot of time there. As I was taking the air train to my terminal, I got to see some of the roads with all the beautiful trees and greenery. Really very clean and pristine. They say there is a dark side to that clean and pristine, but that is for another day.
    Read more