Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    IconSiam- mall, movie and A/C

    November 3, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 90 °F

    It’s hot today. I mean f-ing hot. I was going to explore my neighborhood but I just couldn’t do it.
    One of the things Asia is known for is their malls. They are a glorious air-conditioned refuge from the blazing heat. Stores, food Courts, movie theatre. Yes, we have those in the States, but these are like those but on Steroids. And on of the best is in Bangkok and it’s the IconSiam. 7 floors. It’s insane, tons of food and one of the best movie theaters in Thailand. Another thing Thailand and Malaysia are known for are their super comfy recliners in the movie theaters.
    It so happens, my neighborhood is very close to the River that runs through the city. It’s also very close to the Pier. This is where the have a Hop off and Hop on boat that takes you to all around to the sites. (Hmmmm, that may be an idea.)
    Another one is free. It’s a free shuttle across to Icon Siam and back to the Pier. And it’s very close to where I’m staying. So I did that today. I went to see a movie. I saw the last “ Halloween”. I love Jamie Lee Curtis , the movie was ok, but there was no one in there, it was cool and the seats were super comfy. I had ordered a movie ticket on line (and was very pleased with myself figuring that one out- it involved entering my local Thai phone # correctly-which was a lot harder than it sounds) and had picked a “premier” seat in the back. Well I got there and the seat was great. Now mind you. There was NO ONE else in the theater, just me. So I looked behind me on the last row and there were even better comfy seats. So I got up and went to sit in one of those. They were even better!
    As soon as the movie started , a very nice young woman who worked there came in and asked to see my ticket. I knew I had been busted, but figured I’d play dumb. When I showed her my ticket on my phone she gently pointed out A8 was in the row I’m front of us. “Oh my goodness, I’m so sorry, thank you so much, I just didn’t realize, I thought this was row A”. I’m sure she hears it 100000000 x a day and I scurried to my appropriate seat and stayed there. 🤦‍♀️😆
    And I thoroughly enjoyed myself.
    Before the movie, I got there early and took a look at the stores on each floor before I went up the escalator to the next one. There was one store I bought something in. It was a Travel store (of course) and they had small UV umbrellas. I see the women carrying these all the time and it really makes sense. Heck, I might start using it when I walk in from the parking lot to Costco in the middle of summer.
    I was getting hungry, but it was all sit down places and I wasn’t seeing anything I liked. So I did a few laps and settled on a ramen place. Well, holy cow! It was fantastic. And I wasn’t 1000% sure how to do it, but there was a bowl of cooked ingredients, a bowl of broth, and an empty bowl with a spoon and chopsticks. So I put in some broth and some ingredients and slurped away. Afterward I found some Mochi ice cream which was perfect.
    Then I was ready for my movie. I realize too, sometimes asking someone where to go can create more chaos than if I had just followed my nose. Movie theaters are universally the same. Snack bar, ticket taker, bathrooms, theater 1-7 one way 8-13 the others way. It’s not hard. But I tend to over complicate even that.
    I had to got to theatre 7. I was headed towards it, but for some reason I stopped an employee to be sure. I showed her the ticket and said 7? And she asked if I’m looking for 7-11. Well, this went on for 30 seconds and I’ve got google translate out. Thank goodness a restroom attendant ( the bathrooms are fabulous) came by and said “theatre 7” and pointed. There was no need for all of that. I guess that how you learn.
    This mall also has the SuperRich currency exchange I’m using. I even took a $100 bill out of my other shoe to take, but totally forgot you have to show your passport, which I had not brought with me. 🤦‍♀️
    After I left the movie, I wound my way down to the bottom floor and stumbled upon a glorious sight to behold. It was a huge food court. With all the stuff I’ve been seeing on the streets all in one place. And still super inexpensive!
    So I’m going to get up and make the most of tomorrow. I’m thinking I’m going to head back over to this mall. At the very least to get money changed, and eat some good street food for lunch. And getting to the shuttle boat is so close. It makes an easy journey. I’m learning to work smarter not harder.
    Read more