Satellitt
Vis på kartet
  • Dag 9

    Sunday night Market

    6. november 2022, Thailand ⋅ 🌙 75 °F

    The Sunday Night Market. Supposedly the largest Sunday night Market in Thailand. The main reason I originally wanted to come up to Chiang Mai for a few days.
    After the morning market, All I did was nap off and on and read a bit. It was luxurious. And, I have kept the windows in the bedroom open and the a/c off. It gets warm in the afternoon, but for the most part it’s cool for the better part of the day. I’ll bet this place stays super cool during the rainy season.
    So I decided to walk the 20 minutes to the Market. As I got closer to the old town, It got more touristy. And I started hearing a lot of German and Dutch, English and American accents. There are also a lot of Koreans visiting. The young women are amazing to look at. They have this “glass skin”, they are impeccably dressed and DO NOT sweat. At all. They aren’t even Dewy. It’s been fantastic people watching.
    So after being at the local market last night and trying to stay away from the touristy areas ( for the most part) I found the Sunday night market a little touristy. But I got a couple of cool magnets, a hand fan, some good coconut oil, those Thai herbs wrapped in banana leaf that I am liking so much, and a couple of cool anklets. I got over to the food court and had Khao Soi, a Northern Thailand coconut - curry noodle soup with chicken. And A mango shake made only with Mango and cold water. They had all kinds of places to sit. So you just kinda find one end of an empty table and chow down. Then I went over to a long line for banana/chocolate chip pancake. It was pretty much a chocolate chip crepe with a banana rolled up with it. And it was good!
    So I make my way back to the main drag and it really getting packed now. Like “Oh hell no, get me out of here” kinda packed. And my feet are starting to hurt. (I waited in line a really long time for those Thai herbs wrapped in banana leaf.) so I made my way straight to the sign that said Exit/tuk-tuk/taxi.
    I showed the guy where I wanted to go, and we were off. It was about 150 baht which is about $4 or I could have taken the red trucks you see everywhere that are like little mini buses for 30 baht or $0.80. But I knew the tuk-tuk would go straight to where I wanted and I hadn’t taken one yet. So off we went. They are fun. They are more expensive, and it was worth it. I am posting a short video of that. And the picture I’m posting is the Khao Soi and mango shake.
    It’s really nice in the bedroom in the evening with the windows open. Except they are getting ready for the festival, shooting off very loud fireworks and playing Thai music over a loud speaker. I’m keeping them open. I have some good ear plugs I wore last night and I’ll put them in. When else am I going to fall asleep in Northern Thailand in an apt over the river as the city celebrates the start of a festival?
    Les mer