Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Early Morning Market

    November 6, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 64 °F

    So as I mentioned the day before, the City is preparing for a festival this week. Which mean firecrackers. Lol, these are not the kind I’m used to. These literally sound like a small explosive has been detonated. BOOM. Not pop pop pop. You know how in the states ( well, in Fl) we play, “Was that fireworks or gunfire?) well, here I’m wondering if the Thai navy are having active drills behind the apt.
    So I wake up earlier here. Probably because that’s when the steady buzz of motorcycles start streaming by where I’m staying. So this morning I woke up at 6:15. And told myself to throw on a T-shirt and skirt, go get coffee and see what the local market is doing. I had to change a 1,000 baht bill (the local vendors don’t like doing it) and knew the upscale new coffee place around the corner could do it. I’ve discovered everyplace have their “signature” iced coffee. It generally sweet and strong and has condensed milk in it. And it’s goooood. So I changed money for my morning caffeine and when to see the market I was at last night. It was different, not as packed, way more fruits and veggies and food to cook with, not foods that are already prepared. I walked through a flower market 1st. Since they are getting ready for the festival, it was humming this morning.
    I find I’m more adventurous, going down side alleys in the morning. I see lots of women seeing their wares, and a Buddhist Monk going around collecting alms. The ladies give him some food and they kneel down and he says prayers over them. It was very cool.
    I have also discovered where my adventuresome spirit with trying food lays. Things wrapped in banana leaf. Small medium or large, they are generally very complex and layered in taste and texture. And since they are steamed, always cooked. I got some today, and I’ll include the pictures of the contents of last night’s banana leaf. It’s about 9:30 am here. The air is cool. In fact I even opened all the windows in the bedroom and moved the fan. It feels so nice. I can hear all the traffic outside, but it is nice.
    Manda had asked about the bathrooms. This apt is way more local. They have TP but the “bum gun “ is the standard here. You can’t through TP in the toilet, the pipes are so old, they would clog anything up. So you toss your tissue in the trash. It’s kinda weird. But I’m adjusting.
    Tonight I’m going to the big Sunday night market. One of the main reasons I came here. But for now, a mid morning nap is in order. ❤️
    Read more