Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Last night of Loy Krathong

    November 9, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 79 °F

    With the festivities in full swing, it feels like the community is just waiting for night to fall. The vendors all have their spots, and are there for the duration.
    I got up early, got coffee, had a leisurely breakfast, had a mid morning nap, read for a while, had a little lunch, and napped until about 4:30. The vendors were all setting back up again and I walked to the local market to get fruit and noodles for breakfast and find dinner.
    For dinner I settled on a whole fish baked in salt. It came with glass noodles, fresh cilantro and a sauce in a bag. It was the most expensive thing I have purchased with a street vendor. It was 120 baht, or $3.26.
    I got home, filleted it to the best of my ability and put it in a bowl with the noodles, cilantro and some of the sauce. The sauce was excellent but super spicy. There was also some type of lettuce that came with it. But I have read that salad ingredients can be sketchy. If it is washed or rinsed in tap water, it can get you sick. And so far, I’ve done well. (SO FAR)
    So the big final parade is tonight. It came by this way around 8:30 pm and is going by still and it’s 10:15. It seems to be mainly the technology schools doing the floats. There have been some really good ones.
    Tomorrow is my last full day here. I’ve enjoyed it, and have barely scratched the surface. I’ve learned that that is ok. I don’t ( or can’t ) see everything, and I’ll make myself sick trying. I like that I’ve such to one part of the city and gotten into a routine.
    Read more