Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Penang Malaysia

    November 11, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌧 79 °F

    Today was a travel day. Up and out the door for coffee at 6 am. The very nice elderly pharmacist downstairs spent the night in the back room/living space behind his shop. And he greeted me bright and early at 6:40. He had a checklist. And he counted the silverware. That always makes me wonder how bad it had to get, to count the silverware before the guest leaves. It’s always a few bad apples.
    AirAsia is a great inter-Asia airline. They are clean, on time, efficient and affordable. Both flights were issue-free and I got fed and got a nap in.
    So I got into Penang around 4:30 pm. And the airport was packed. Friday afternoon, it’s pouring rain and everybody’s trying to get taxis. I just go straight for GRAB, but my cell service was being weird, and with every person in the airport on the WiFi, I just kept getting the spinning wheel of death. And the number one rule is don’t go with the weird guy who comes up to you and asks if you need a taxi. But I’ve got good resting bitch face, even behind a mask, so they get the message.
    So I finally get a GRAB. It’s always a bit stressful playing “where’s Waldo?” at a new airport. But after a few minutes I find him. The drive from the airport said 35 minutes on Google (when I checked a few days ago.) Well Friday afternoon, rush hour and pouring rain and wind. It took us an hour and a 1/2. Bless this guys heart. He was a trooper. And got me right to my doorstep.
    So this house. This house I’ve rented through Air BB, I swear it’s the reason I came to Penang for a few days. It’s a restored 19th century Chinese Shop house. Like the 1st apt I rented in Bangkok. But this is on a MUCH grander scale. The people who own it (they own another one close by ) own a place here called The Blue Mansion. And it’s this spectacular old restored place they made into a hotel, and people go to tour it too.
    Word can’t describe it. I have a few pictures I’ll put up. But I feel like I’m staying in one of the great houses of the world.
    So as I’m sitting in one of the great houses of the world, I’m hot tired and just want to connect with mom and tell her I got in the house and everything is good. Except I’m still getting that spinning circle of death. So I just said F-ck it, and called Mom. Lol, sometimes it’s just easiest to pick ip the phone. So after that, I turned off the phone and turned it back on. (And it was also charging it too, sometimes I think when it gets low, it makes matters worse)
    And everything started popping up. So I was in the house, had talked to Mom and my phone was working.
    So at this point, it’s still pouring and there’s no way I’m going out wandering around for food. So I ordered from GRAB. Not only are they like UBER but they are the food delivery service of the world so I ordered Indian food (50 Ringgits, which is about $10.50) took a shower, and by that time it was here. So I have had this magical ending to a irritating several hours trying to get out of the airport.
    They have “Alexa” wired through the house to play music. So that really lowered my blood pressure.
    It’s supposed to rain quite a bit while I’m here. This house has great cross ventilation with specific windows and doors open. So I have given myself permission to spend time in the house this visit and not kill myself trying to see everything. It makes for a much more enjoyable experience.
    So I’ve just gotten into bed. OMG. This bed is so comfortable. Firm but not too firm. The last bed, in
    Chiang Mai was hard. It was ok, but lol, what a difference.
    Read more