Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    A good last day in BKK

    November 17, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 90 °F

    Today has been a good last day. I slept in, had breakfast brought to me, checked out and had a guy in a white chauffeur suit pick me up in a BMW. (I had ordered the lowest rung, a Nissan and just a plain suit, but if they wanted to send fancy who am I to complain.) So there is a huge Economic meeting in Bangkok, creating all kinds of security check points, closed roads and metro lines.
    So I was fine getting to the airport super early, around 1pm, and after check in, they directed me to the Silver Kris Business class lounge. I had downloaded a few books, so I settled into a comfy chair and had coffee and read. They had what’s called “premium” food” which are big dishes of lots of different stuff. Pad Thai, Pineapple rice, Thai basil chicken dim sum, little Thai deserts, the good coffee machine, and really good WiFi. So I snacked through out the day, read and people watched. When I got there it wasn’t busy, then I looked up and a flood of businessmen had taken over. All ages. Lots of very nice trim Asian men in really good suits. One guy reminded me of Jet Li and I really had to stop staring. 🤦‍♀️
    I stayed most of the day, and have now wandered down to my gate. It’s interesting. They are checking hand luggage at the gate (which I’ve never seen them do) and double checking faces with tickets and passports. It must be increased security because of the APEC.
    So this is a 2 1/2 hr flight then I have a 2 hr layover (ie another lounge) then a 12 hr flight. I am going to try and get a good rest on this 1st long leg.
    It’s been such a wonderful trip. It really exceeded my expectations. I’m so glad I came to Thailand. And to think, it wasn’t my original plan. ❤️
    Read more