Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Last minute

    August 26, 2017 in Slovenia ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Day 2 really was about finishing my preparations. Thankfully Ljubljana has numerous outdoor sports shops so it was easy finding what was missing and replace what was broken. Since my Slovenian is still only about 10 words in total it took a fair amount of time. But hey, I'm on vacation... I'm even more relaxed than usual!

    The other last minute prep was deciding on a final route for the next 2 weeks. The R1 is far too long to walk all of it, so I've been pondering and deliberating on sections. There are some real mountainous sections in the middle where ropes and climbing gear are advised. I'm not gonna attempt those.

    Instead I'm gonna test my mettle on the easy route from Maribor to maximum Solčava first. 111km for which my guide book says 8 days. I'm hoping for a few less, but let's see how we go.
    Read more