Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Re-supply

    September 2, 2017 in Slovenia ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    "Re-supply? What shopping does he need eating at mountain huts every day???" - I can almost feel your raised eyebrows through the internet! Yes, I admit, my re-supply is basically bying more gummy bears. That and sleep. It's been great getting up each day to hike but omg did I enjoy lying in bed for a day! Now I'm ready for the second part of the trip tomorrow.

    So, no pictures? Well, what would go better with a rest day than food pics! Here are some examples of what my diet has been like the last week:

    Stews, stews, stews.... they seem to be the go to food at the cabins. Big portions of hearty, rustic, delicious one-pot wonders served with slices of bread. Ingredients vary and some huts seem to have local specialties. Of course there is goulash as well but to be honest, I'm not a big fan of the slovenian version. It's not spicy and seems to be more of a case of pieces of beef in a mix of gravy and mashed potatoes. However, some of the other stewy creations were fantastic, like Pasulj, Jota or Ričet.

    Add ramen or rice for when I cooked on my stove and of course loads of veggies and some treats today in the city. I almost get hungry again just writing about it... hhmm, maybe a gummy bear... just one...
    Read more