Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 3 - The Adventure begins

    February 3, 2023 in Costa Rica ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    I got up quite early in the morning to be picked up by my tour guide. I had quite a long day ahead of me. It was only 6 in the morning, but despite wearing short pants I did not feel cold. I love the weather here, it really doesn't compare to the cold temperatures back at home. The side of the streets of San José were filled with palm trees. It made me think back of my summer vacations in the Mediterranean. We made our way to the Alajuela province to visit a coffee plantation. We had some Gallo Pinto with fried banana, sausage and eggs for breakfast. Then we got a tour around the plantation and learned about the entire process of making coffee, from planting the seeds until roasting. I think I am ready to start my own coffee farm now. We continued onwards toward the Poás volcano. We hiked through a rainforest that was covered in clouds to reach the crater. Unfortunately, it was too foggy up there to see anything. We continued to La Paz Waterfall Gardens where we first got to see different exotic animals, including various species of birds, sloths, monkeys, snakes and felines. I had a hummingbird landing on my head for a few seconds and discovered a lovely wooden trail covered in moss that looked quite magical. We then hiked along the La Paz river to discover the 5 waterfalls within the park, one of which I could actually walk underneath. After an exhausting climb back up, we finally made our way back to San José, which was accompanied by the lovely golden glow of an early evening sun above the mountains. Back at the hostel, I ordered myself some chalupas and called it a night.Read more