Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 5 - Road Trip

    February 5, 2023 in Costa Rica ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Today I was on a small tour. There were only two other guys and our guide. Since all three of them were native Spanish speakers, we decided to make that our main language for the day. It was quite challenging but I could follow most of the conversation. We drove across the panamericana to a town called Tarcoles to have some fried meats and tamales for breakfast and then watch the crocodiles in the river. As we continued our journey, I got my first ever glance at the Pacific Ocean. Only now I realized that I was at the other side of the world right now. We finally made our way to Manuel Antonio National Park, where we wandered through the jungle to see some lizards and monkeys before finally arriving at the beach. It was a small strip of perfectly white sand surrounded by the green of the jungle and the shining blue waters ahead. It was truly blissful. I swam alongside the beach for some time until I let the waves carry me back to the shore. Then I sat down by the water to catch a little sunlight. After walking back through the jungle, I ate some mariscos for a late lunch before we started making our way back to San José. We got to see a raccoon and an iguana enjoying the sunlight in the parking lot before leaving. After around 2h of drive, we made a quick stop to freshen up with a beer before finally heading back home.Read more