Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    What's up with the lights?

    July 19, 2019 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 54 °F

    I don't know how you experience the full moon, but I have always experienced it as sound. When it came up over the ocean in Oahu once, when its first ray of light hit the water, I heard a violin note. Normally though, I feel like it yells at me. "Wake up! I'm here!" The point of this story is that it is 4 am in Switzerland. I have been awake since midnight obsessed with trying to see constellations. But I could not figure out how there could be such light pollution this far removed from civilization. Then I looked out the window again just now and found the culprit. A full moon. In a few hours the chickens will be up, just as I have been the last three hours. But as a courtesy to Tim, I moved into the second bedroom to listen to the sound of waterfalls, the errant owl hoot, and the moon tauting me. I could close the curtains, but that would drown out the sound of the tallest waterfall in Switzerland that shines across this valley. To sleep perchance to dream.Read more