Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Rest Day: Aurlandsfjord

    July 7, 2022 in Norway ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Today was the perfect remedy to yesterdays nightmare. We woke up with the sun shining and the wind a little chilly (of course). Chez needed a rest day so I went off on a solo adventure in search of sunny fjords and beautiful views.

    From our base camp near Hol, I travelled north west to the beautiful Aurlandsfjord and the Stegastein or lookout point. I put on some lovely music, wrapped myself up warm (just in case) and hit route 50. It was glorious, I haven’t felt so light hearted and joyful for a long time. It’s pointless to say that the views were incredible! Firstly I climbed up to the snow capped peaks past icy lakes and wind blown tundra before descending through tunnels and hairpins to the sheltered base of Aurlandsfjord, where the gentle breezy was warm and inviting.

    After riding up to the lookout, which was of course full of tourists I headed to the local cafe bakery for a hot cappuccino and a chocolate donut. I shared both with the local baby birds. On the way back, I embraced the cold and stopped for a break on the top of the mountain pass, a chance to appreciate the cold and desolation of these majestic passes! A perfect day to unfortunately end our time in Norway, with heavy rain for the next two weeks, we are bailing to southern warm climes. Adios Norway, you have been spectacular!

    HIGHLIGHTS - Aurlandsfjord (of course)
    LOW POINTS - knowing we are leaving Norway
    ROADS - Route 50
    Read more