Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Bingo!

    September 10, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    Thank god for oordopjes!!! Last night in jail was a symphony of snorers. I had been wise enough this time to bring the oordopjes to bed, so I wasn't really bothered with the snoring.

    We had to leave the albergue at 9 o'clock, so at about 7 I decided to get up. You all know how slow I am, and I don't want to feel rushed.
    And even today, I was one of the last ones to leave 😁😁😁

    My first stop after the albergue was the same restaurant where I had my dinner last night (ensalada mixtaaaaaa yummy). I wanted to have a coffee and had also read that they have wonderful tortilla. Helaaaaaas, no tortilla, so I had a coffee and bocadillo con queso, ook lekker. Now, while I was sitting and enjoying my breakfast, I could see out of the window, a lot of pilgrims walking by, however, these people didn't have big backpacks, and there were lots of them. I found it a bit strange... And I was thinking, shit, all these people walking by, the next albergue is going to be full and I will have to walk further......

    Anyway, I started walking and pretty soon out of the town of Comillas I was walking a very nice route, passing a river, a beach, I was walking in Parque Nacional de Oyambre. Hopi nice, and suddenly I walk by a parking and there is a bus standing there, and outside of the bus they have drinks, snacks, and it looks like they are waiting........
    Turns out there is another way to do the camino, you can book with these people that basically provide everything for you, you don't have to cary a big backpack, no worries about enough food....... Heck...... No staying in albergues!!!!
    It's doing the camino the comfy way 😁😁😁
    I am sure it also costs a comfy price, NOT 😝

    Moving on I arrived at Playa de Oyambre and continued walking along the beach, heerlijk, the sun was shining but there was a lot of wind. It was very nice, big waves, lot's of surfers. At the end of the beach I went back up the road, to later again go down and walk along the next beach.

    It was about time to have lunch, so when I arrived at the beach before San Vicente de la Barquera, I decided to have the rest of my bocadillo con queso. What a beautiful view 😁

    From San Vicente I continued walking about 8 km further to Serdio, where I am now. I am sitting in the kitchen, showered, clothes washed and writing this, while I hear the hospitalera downstairs announcing numbers.
    There are a bunch of old spanish ladies sitting downstairs, so I think the hospitalera has set up her own Bingo game down here 😁😁😁.
    You gotta love Spain.

    O yeah, next to the albergue there is a small field, with cows and a bull. The bull must be very busy with keeping his ladies in line because he keeps moooooooiing really loud.
    Soooo tonight's symphony might also include some moooooooo's 😂😂😂😂

    Hasta majan
    Read more