Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Bienvenido a Galicia, my first time

    September 24, 2017 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 15 °C

    Today my journey toke me from Asturias to Galicia. I have never been here before, but I just love the accent here. The accent is a bit musical. Very nice.

    I am not so happy with the camino of the past 2 days though. A lot of the stages of the past 2 days was on asphalt or next to the busy road, which was murder on my feet.

    Yesterday, I left Otur, the camino was almost all alongside the road, and my feet just couldn't deal with that. So finally, after having a coffee and some local pastry with the three french ladies, Elisabeth, Brigit and Silvie, I went to the bus station to grab the bus for the last 10km to La Caridad. The french ladies walked and I would see them later in the albergue.

    I booked the private albergue in La Caridad for myself, Yolanda and Hugo (the dutch Couple) and the three french ladies. It was called La Xana, which means the girl. They had a beautiful cat, whose name was ...... Xana 😂.

    It was a good albergue, nice and clean, beds were good. I was the first of the group to get there, ofcourse, because I cheated......
    Then came Hugo and Yolanda and an hour or so later, the french ladies. They were very excited because it was going to be their first time ever in an albergue 😝😝😝.

    They will never forget it! They had gin tonics, then ate in an underground dingy restaurant and were fortunate to be able to enjoy a major snoring feast during the whole night! They all woke up with a headache, but still in good spirits. It was their last day today and we said our goodbyes after breakfast.

    I had already decided that I wasn't going to walk the whole stage today. So after breakfast, I ordered a taxi and he brought me to Tapia de Casariego. From here I walked and took the coastal route and ended up seeing many beautiful beaches. At the last beach I also went pootje baden. I hadn't realized it, but after this stage there is no more costa. From now on we turn land inwards and I am not really feeling it!
    Tomorrow I will walk and see how I feel about it.

    Tonight I am staying in a hostal in Ribadeo, with a girl from Madrid as my sleeping mate. It was also her last day today. I met her on the way to the hostal. I had stopped by the albergue first to see if I could stay there, but the place was cold and looked like bed bug heaven. No way I was going to stay there!

    Bueno people, Bon Siman! Let's see what this week brings 😁
    Read more