Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    10 mile walk … it was a challenge!!

    March 26, 2022 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    What an exhausting day! When I left the US, I figured I’d either gain 50 lbs from eating all over the world - or I’d lose 50 from walking halfway there. So far, walking is winning out..

    We hiked up El Faro - highest lighthouse in the America’s, 2nd highest in the world. Not a huge distance - only 1.5 miles, but VERY steep and ended with 386 steps. It was a challenge, at least for me. Lots of stray cats live on the mountain - all very thirsty. 😢 A cloud bank rolled in while we were up there - it was beautiful. And there was a glass floor overlook that definitely brought some anxiety out in me, but still a cool experience.

    The seafood here is incredible! We sat on the beach, feet in the sand, and had another great lunch with another great pina colada. (Served in a hollowed out pineapple!) May be my drink of choice for awhile.

    Then Jordan got a wild hair to walk all the way back to our Airbnb. 5 miles, on the beach. Gorgeous weather, walking in the surf. Paid for it tho with some very sore legs/feet and some sunburn, but so relaxing and pretty. And hopefully getting stronger for the more strenuous adventures to come.

    Since Rod died, I haven’t really taken any extended time for myself. I had to get working full time right away when he died to provide me and the kids our much needed health insurance, help with college expenses, figure out how I was going to make payments on a house I couldn’t afford, how I was going to survive without my partner in life, and main bread winner. (The price of being a stay at home mom for 20 years.) I put my head down and got what was needed done. It’s been a long 4+ years to get financially stable (changing my life drastically by moving to SC to find affordable housing) and it’s a relief to finally feel like I CAN just breathe, and know life is going to be okay if I take this time for myself.

    I’ve definitely chilled out some. No anxiety today and no tears. 😃 Just trying to enjoy whatever experience comes my way. It’s such a different way to live life - no real responsibilities, no consistency or normalcy - everyday is a different experience or adventure, but getting used to it. Won’t go on forever, so need to soak it in and learn to enjoy every bit of it. Before I know it, I’ll be back at work with all the normalcy I can handle.
    Read more