Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Travel day

    April 17, 2022 in Mexico ⋅ ☀️ 86 °F

    Not a real exciting day - travel days from one place to another are somewhat uneventful. Just a lot of work. Jordan convinced me to travel with backpacks, not suitcases - so we carry everything we need for 10 months on our backs. I’ve finally gotten used to the weight, but it’s taken awhile. Travel days tho, are sweaty days.

    We took a taxi, ferry and then bus to get from Cozumel to Cancun today. We fly out tomorrow and have a lengthy layover in Panama City on the way to Costa Rica! Excited for someplace new, but anxious as well. Change is hard.

    We will have been in Mexico 28 days tomorrow, and I have a lot of things I miss about home that I definitely took for granted: being able to flush used toilet paper (yeah, you can’t do that here - it’s gross); constant quality wifi access/unlimited data plans; free public restrooms (you pay in Mexico for access); a car at my finger tips; drinkable tap water; the feel of my own pillow under my head; English speaking tv shows/movies; ice!; soft bath towels; being able to make a phone call easily; home cooked meals and … regular sized bottles of toiletries. I hope when I get home I remember these things that were “different/difficult” and appreciate what I have a lot more.
    Read more