Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 77

    Last day on French Riviera

    June 6, 2022 in France ⋅ ⛅ 73 °F

    Miles: 11.8 Steps: 28120
    Flights stairs: 43

    Today, after 76 days together, Jordan and I split up for a good portion of the day. I wanted to see more sites, and she wanted to lay on the beach … so we did just that. I found it fun adventuring on my own, and I’m sure Jordan enjoyed time alone from me to just do her own thing. We may do more of that as we move along.

    I hiked up Castle Hill, which strangely, didn’t have a castle on it any longer. Great views tho. Then I took a long walk along the “coastal path” which was literally a path carved out of the stones on the shore that went from Nice to the city we went to yesterday by train. I ended up walking 9 miles between the castle-less hill and the path. Felt great tho.

    I’m remembering back to the first hike in Mazatlan … El Faro, the lighthouse on the hill. I hardly made it up that day — and todays hike, which was much harder, I tackled with little difficulty. Nice to see the improvement physically.

    My entire life I have unhealthily weighed myself every morning, sometimes multiple times a day. I have been obsessed with being overweight since I was probably 15 yrs old. It’s been very freeing on this trip to not give a second thought to how much I weigh. To measure myself by my fitness level, by my strength, by my ability to climb a mountain, by how my clothes are feeling on me … instead of a number on a scale. A bonus I’m finding of this trip.
    Read more