Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 155

    Petra!

    August 23, 2022 in Jordan ⋅ ☀️ 79 °F

    Miles: 9.2 Steps: 20272
    Flights stairs: 61 !!

    We went to Petra today. It’s quite a hike - surprised me, I had no idea it took so much to see it. And today, we only saw about half of the site.

    We made it to the “treasury” - to me, made famous by Indiana Jones and the last crusade. Anyone else? Shows how cultured I am. 😂 And then we took a side trail to be able to view the treasury from above - it was 725 stairs to the top! (yes I counted every one of them). Luckily we went out early so wasn’t too warm for most of it - mid 70’s at the start, mid 80’s at the end. The main trail to get in was about 2 miles each way and then the side trail we took was another 2 each way. All the hikes we’ve done so far are rated easy or moderate - todays was rated hard, and it was. But we made it to the top!

    When we got there we found a person had constructed a “hut” that completely blocked the view. You could only see said view if you came into the hut and purchased something to drink. Quite the entrepreneur. At that point we had little choice after hiking for 2 miles just to see the view so we paid out the $6 for two water bottles, sat down and enjoyed what we worked so hard to see. 😂

    So far, Jordan has been a joy to see. And for the most part the people are kind, polite and friendly. Today tho, was shocked when a man asked me “how many camels would you like for your baby?” Yep .. someone offered to buy my daughter. 😳 For camels, nonetheless. A waiter also asked Jordan, with me sitting right there, “does your mom like sweets? Most old ladies here don’t.” Yep .. I was called an old lady, to my face. 😢 Someone also wanted to know why Jordan wasn’t married yet - what was “wrong” with her to not be married by 23. Interesting times.
    Read more