Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    First train ride / 1. Zufahrt in Japan

    July 24, 2018 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    To catch the best train to Beppu I only had one hour and 8 minutes time - for getting out of the ferry (7:30) until getting in the train (8:38)! Luckily there was a very experienced Backpacker in his 60s in the room who was quite familiar with Fukuoka and could tell me the fastest way to get off the ferry and where to change some money for the bus and where the bus would leave... 😀
    To be one of the first to get off the ferry I put my backpack at 5:15 in front of the ferry gate. After that I went back to the room until 7:10. As soon as the gate was opening at 7:30 everything was happening very quickly. The passport check was ok, but at the customs they also wanted to check my backpack. Of course I had some fruits from Busan with me and they had to check if they are OK to bring to Japan... 😝 After that I was running to the money exchange then running to the bus stop. The bus ride was also about 20 minutes. At the train station I had to pick money from the ATM and at the ticket counter I had to buy the special ticket "Seishun 18 Kippu". Everything worked out fine. - Hard to believe, but 10 minutes before the train left I was at the right track! - I de no idea why I was scratching my head the day before for a plan B... 😂

    Um den besten Zug nach Beppu zu erwischen, hatte ich genau eine Stunde und 8 Minuten Zeit - vom verlassen der Fähre (7:30) bis zum Einsteigen in den Zug (8:38)! Zum Glück war in meinem Schlafraum ein vielgereister koreanischer Backpacker um die 60, der sich in Fukuoka sehr gut auskannte und mir sagen konnte, wie ich als eine der ersten von der Fähre aussteigen, wo ich danach schnell etwas Geld wechseln könnte für den Bus und wo der Bus dann abfahren würde... 😀
    Um möglichst als erster aussteigen zu können stellte ich gleich mal um 05:15 meinen Rucksack als einer der ersten vor das Ein-/Ausstiegstor der Fähre, danach ging es bis 7:10 erstmal test in den Schlafraum. Sobald das Tor dann um 7:30 offen war ging alles Schlag auf Schlag. Passkontrolle war noch ok, aber dann musste ich plötzlich auch noch zur Gepäckskontrolle. Da ich natürlich ein paar Früchte aus Busan im Gepäck hatte, mussten sie die natürlich auch noch überprüfen... 😝 Danach rannte ich zum Geldwechsel, dann zum Bus. Die Busfahrt dauerte auch ca. 20 Minuten. Am Bahnhof musste ich dann erst mal zum Bankomaten, danach zum Ticketschalter um das Spezialticket "Seishun 18 Kippu" zu kaufen. Ging alles glatt und so war ich, kaum zu glauben, doch genau 10 Minuten vor Abfahrt am richtigen Bahnsteig! - Keine Ahnung warum ich mir noch am Vorabend den Kopf über einen möglichen Plan B zerbrochen habe... 😂
    Read more