Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Aleksandra

    April 7 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    And it continues...waking up again to a beautifull view, breakfast and off we go the three of us to Aleksandra, Matangi station MTB. Another no lift bike park with awesome trails! Felt a lot like home in Thessaloniki with all the sharp stones and the loose dry dirt! Some really steep parts made it quite challenging and i couldnt keep up with Freds pace (he was after all excited about the contitions and was flying down).
    After some necessary chatting with the groups riding the spot that day we had a few runs together and then moved on to another part of the area.
    First it was a fast flowy one by a small stream and then a steep technical one which took me by surpise! Had an OTB moment and fell with my back towards the slope. I felt my helmet hitting hard against the rock slab right after my bum had done exactly the same. When i stood up i realised my shorts and underwear were torn and my elbow was somehow bleeding. Took some thorns out of my skin and clothes and struggled in the beggining to continue but eventually i managed to clear the trail...
    Another small (thanfully) sacrifice to the MTB Gods!
    Satisfied and full with all the things we did the past days we eventually started heading back to Christchurch from the east road this time. We were aiming for a decent time of sleep before Fred started working.
    Kind of made it...
    Read more