Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Heading South?

    April 12 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Stealth car camping as it turns out I fit in the car! I had a very good night sleep and since I had limited options for entertainment in the car, I fell asleep really early and woke up just as early! Around 5.30 i was already driving...north, not because i chanded plans but cause of me not thinking straight...After a while i realised and headed towards the right direction. Quite some time was lost but hey, light started to appear behind the mist.
    Farmers drove their 'utes' like mad in the dark! The day started in a hard way. Visited Wangarei to check the waterfalls but i was mostly surprised by the A. H. Reed Memorial Kauri Park.
    Continued down the road and close to the east coast this time. What a sight!
    I missed my chance of riding a wave since they dont rent boards this far out of the normal season.
    At least they all looked lile they were enjoyed.
    Reached Rotorua late in the afternoon dead tired from almost half a day of driving.
    Checked in the hotel (btw if booking rates it around 6 its not worth it) had a full dinner right next to the hotel and crashed into bed!
    Read more